On the Menu

I had a lot of fun with our dinners from last week. Mainly because I was SO excited to try new things with my Spiralizer! I don’t think I’ve introduced my new kitchen toy here on the blog yet, but I got it as a gift for Mother’s Day and have been so excited to see what I can do with it! If you don’t know what a spiralizer is, basically it is a little machine that turns vegetables into noodles! Check out this little video – these were the veggies I used this past week!

So I spiralized zucchini, a rutabaga, and sweet potatoes! This is what they helped to create, along our dinners that did not include any spiralized veggies. I’ve included links and recipes for our favorites!

Mason Jar Salad using zucchini noodles (from the cookbook “Inspiralized”) Check out her website here: http://www.inspiralized.com

IMG_0021

Spiralized Rutabaga and Turkey Casserole with Broccoli “Bread Crumbs” also from the Inspiralized cookbook! Verdict – I liked it, Bryan didn’t so much. It made a ton so I ate all the leftovers and thoroughly enjoyed it! But we probably won’t be making it again any time soon. 🙂

IMG_0053

Blackened Tilapia with Sweet Potato Noodles and Green Beans This one was a winner! I used a store-bought blackening seasoning and baked the fish for 10-15 minutes at 425 degrees, first coating the fish with a light layer of olive oil and then applying the seasoning to both sides. The sweet potato noodles were tossed with a bit of olive oil, salt, and pepper, and baked at the same time and temperature for about 20-25 minutes. Then green beans are easy, just blanched and then sautéed!

IMG_0085

Crockpot Lime Chicken This is one of our favorite recipes because it is SO yummy, SO easy, and makes SO much! I found the original recipe here. I used the chicken to top a salad of mixed greens, cherry tomatoes, and shreds of a whole wheat tortilla! No dressing necessary – so good!

IMG_0163

Grilled Turkey Burgers Another favorite lately! These burgers are so stinking good – I found the recipe through Pinterest right here. I topped my burger with avocado slices and it was perfection! The carrot fries turned out yummy too – all you do is take a bag of shredded carrots, toss in a little olive oil and salt, spread onto a baking sheet and bake at 350 for 30 minutes!

IMG_0212

All in all it was a successful week of healthy eating! Now to meal plan for next week….. !

Leave a Reply

