Wednesday Words – Fruit of the Spirit

I have found myself desperately praying for more of the fruit of the spirit lately. I don’t know, something about being mommy to a 2.5 year old, plus the unpredictability of a 9 month old – it seems like I’m at the end of my rope more often than not. And nothing upsets me more than to be in the midst of losing patience and speaking harshly to my babies. There is certainly a time for sternness and a hard tone of voice, but when that tone is used in anger rather than in love, my heart breaks a little bit.

I love my kids so much, and I love my husband so much, but I see more and more every day that if my relationship with God isn’t where it needs to be, my love can be covered up by frustration, irritability, bitterness, a short-temper, eye rolls… it is certainly a humbling thing to read the list I just typed compared to the list that the Lord gives. Love. Joy. Peace. Patience. Kindness. Goodness. Faithfulness. Gentleness. Self-control. These are the qualities I desire, not just in the happy, sweet moments, but in the ugly ones too. This is truly the mark of the Holy Spirit!

If you feel like I do, print this one out – put it somewhere that you can see it daily. Hang it somewhere that you’ll catch a glimpse of it in times of need. Maybe on the wall near the time-out spot you seem to visit a hundred times a day with your little one. Or maybe on the pantry door as you’re retrieving yet another snack or meal for your always-hungry kids. Or maybe you don’t have kids and you need it next to your computer screen as you answer dozens of emails from sometimes rude or ungrateful senders. Or maybe in your car, so you can see it as you head away from home to the stress of work, or as you head away from work to the stress of home. Let’s remind ourselves of who we are in Christ so that we reflect the Spirit rather than our flesh!

“Since we are living by the Spirit, let us follow the Spirit’s leading in every part of our lives.” Galatians 5:25

Printable version: FruitoftheSpirit

IMG_0504

Leave a Reply

