Love and Light will Win!

I spent much of my morning in tears over the tragic shooting that happened in a Charleston church last night. We hear about shootings far too often these days, and unfortunately (or fortunately, not sure) I’ve been able to sort of numb myself to the horror of each new incident. But for whatever reason, this one really shook me and broke my heart.

I don’t have any connections to anyone involved, or even really to the town itself. But maybe its because Charleston was the first place Bryan and I went on vacation, just the two of us (besides our honeymoon). Or maybe its that we have friends who live and work in Charleston. Or maybe its that I take my children to church 2-3 times a week, where I feel safe from the darkness of the world. I guess it’s probably all of those things.

This world is such a dark place. So dark. It can be easy to feel like the darkness is too overwhelming, that the light is being shut out. As a mother, I feel such a pit in my stomach about this world that my children are living in. They are so young right now, so innocent. How do I prepare them for the evil of the world that they will encounter? How do I equip them to handle tragedy and hate? How do I train them up to be lights in the midst of such darkness?

I don’t know. But I hope to set an example, first and foremost. As a believer in Christ, as dark as the world may seem at times, I believe that light will be victorious. If hate can produce such terrible things in the world, how much MORE GOOD can love produce? I can’t even imagine! So my hope will be to keep my eyes, heart, and mind fixed on the LIGHT and to be an example of LOVE to those around me. I hope others will do the same, so we can live in a world where we see glimpses of dark amongst the light, rather than glimpses of light amongst the dark.

But you are not like that, for you are a chosen people. You are royal priests, a holy nation, God’s very own possession. As a result, you can show others the goodness of God, for he called you out of the darkness into his wonderful light.

1 Peter 2:9

I don’t want to numb myself anymore, to the darkness. I want to live FULLY ALIVE in Christ and allow my life to be a light. We have a responsibility as believers. So many people don’t know the love and freedom of Christ. Let’s not allow the darkness to extinguish the light in our lives, because God has already said that light will overcome.

Leave a Reply

