On the Menu – Old Standbys

Last week I was feeling a lack of creativity when it come to our meals. There are some weeks when I’ve got so many new recipes to try its hard to choose which to cook, and then other weeks, I sit down to meal plan and make a grocery list, and I hear crickets chirping. Last week was one of the latter. So I went with some old standby recipes that we have been loving for years, but added some healthy twists to them that we didn’t do before.

I did have one new recipe to try for a few days’ of lunches that turned out really good! But first, dinners:

Pizza!
We love to make pizza at home and always fall back on a few different favorites for toppings. This time we went with the margarita pizza – fresh mozzarella, basil, tomatoes, and we tossed some spinach on there as well for some extra green. The crust was dough from the Publix bakery and was whole wheat! Needless to say we saved up our yellow containers to enjoy this meal a few nights last week!

IMG_0903

Chicken & Veggie Stir Fry over Quinoa
Another easy favorite. We switch up the veggies we use from time to time, and last week I spiralized a cabbage for our stir fry! How cool is that?? We also included onion, carrots, and snow peas as well as chicken. I use my wok for our stir fry. First I cooked the chicken in about a tablespoon of sesame oil. Once it was slightly browned, I removed the chicken and then added in a bit more sesame oil to cook the veggies! I did the onion first, then added the rest and let it cook until all the veggies were done but still a little crisp. Then I added the chicken back in and gave everything a little squirt of teriyaki sauce. At the same time I had the quinoa cooking so once it was all combined, it was a delicious meal!

IMG_0950

IMG_1018

Crock Pot Balsamic Chicken with Broccoli Noodles & Florets (and a whole grain roll)
The recipe for this chicken came from here and it is quite tasty, although it does have a pretty strong balsamic taste so you need to like that flavor! The broccoli is spiralized, then the noodles and florets were blanched, drained, and sautéed over medium-high heat. I added some olive oil, garlic, lemon juice, and crumbled turkey bacon and covered it for about 5-8 minutes, tossing it around a few times.

IMG_1037

Avocado Zucchini Noodle Pasta
This was the one new recipe I tried last week for lunch and it was delicious! The recipe for the sauce can be found here. I used zucchini noodles instead of regular noodles. I sautéed the zucchini noodles and cherry tomatoes for a few minutes until the noodles and tomatoes were slightly soft, then tossed it with the sauce and voila! Seriously tasted like a creamy pasta sauce and satisfied my pasta-loving taste buds!

IMG_0891

New week now, and a new opportunity for some more yummy healthy meals! Anybody cooking anything exciting this week??

Leave a Reply

