Wednesday Words – Fixing Our Eyes

IMG_1357

I drew this verse earlier in the week and it has stuck with me! I have been drawn to this verse ever since the beginning of my journey toward better health, but initially I was drawn to the part about running with perseverance the race God has marked out for us. I liked that part because I felt like it was a new challenge for me. I was faced with a new race into unknown territory and I wasn’t sure if I would succeed. I felt sure it was where God was leading, however, so I wanted to stay strong and persevere.

This week, my heart was more drawn to the part of fixing our eyes on Jesus. Life is so full of distractions. My mind seems to always be racing about what I need to do, who I need to see, what I should’ve said when… the list goes on. I am so easily distracted and can so quickly get caught up in life’s “what-ifs” or “could’ve-should’ve,” or comparison to others, or feeling like I’m not doing enough. If my focus is on Jesus, I don’t have to deal with any of those thoughts! If my focus is on Jesus, I feel peace. I feel joy. I feel content. I feel confident and beautiful and full.

I’m being challenged lately as a mother, as a wife, as a coach – I’m being pushed and I’m growing and it is good and wonderful thing. But it’s like Peter walking on the water towards Jesus. When his eyes were fixed on Jesus, he was fine. He walked on water! But when he got distracted, he sank. He forgot the truth of who was leading him. When his eyes were on Jesus, anything was possible. When he was distracted, it was only a matter of time before the waves swallowed him up. Thankfully, Jesus is there. He will pick us back up when we fall. But I want to work hard to keep from sinking in the first place.

Click here for your printable version! FixingOurEyes

Leave a Reply

