On the Menu – New Favorites!

This past week we had some new yummies on the menu! First was a taco casserole for dinner. It was delicious and received 2 thumbs up by everyone! My toddler even tried a bite… which is huge, ha! But this is one of those meals that doesn’t seem like it should be healthy but it is! I found the original recipe through pinterest but made a few minor changes to make it a little healthier. To find the original recipe, click here! My modifications: use ground turkey instead of ground beef (and be sure to drain any liquid from the meat once its browned, before you add the tomatoes, pepper and spinach – this will keep it from being soggy!) and also we used whole wheat tortillas. I didn’t actually measure out my cheese but I don’t think I used the full amount specified in the recipe, either. I just wanted to keep the cheese to a minimum so I just used enough to make a difference but not so much that it was covered in cheese!

IMG_2280

IMG_2282

IMG_2284

Quick shout-out to my neighbor who provided the freshly grown grape and cherry tomatoes! It was such a sweet surprise for him to bring over a big bag of tomatoes while I was outside playing with my little man. That kind act really made my day – and made dinner extra fantastic!!

IMG_2248

The second new yummy recipe is what I made myself for lunch throughout the week. I made one big batch and re-heated it each day! It held up pretty well but had lost a little flavor by the end of the week. But either way it was a yummy change of pace from my normal salads! This is one that I sort of borrowed bits and pieces of various recipes to make this new little creation, so I guess you could consider this an original recipe?! Here goes:

Spaghetti Squash with Chicken and Veggies

Ingredients:
1 spaghetti squash
1 T olive oil
1 clove garlic, minced
2  cups cherry tomatoes, halved
2 cups broccoli florets
1 lb chicken, grilled (or prepared however you like!) and cut into bite-sized pieces
parmesan cheese

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Cut spaghetti squash in half, scoop out seeds, and place face-down in a baking dish. Fill the dish with about 1 inch of water. Bake for 50 minutes. Allow to cool, then scrape out the “noodles” with a fork and set aside.

IMG_2255

2. Bring a large pot of water to a boil. Add the broccoli florets and allow to cook for about 3 minutes until they become bright green. Drain and set aside.

3. Heat olive oil in a large pan. Add garlic and allow to cook until fragrant. Add the cherry tomatoes and the broccoli and cook for 7-10 minutes, until the veggies soften.

IMG_2257

4. Add the spaghetti squash noodles and cooked chicken to the pan and mix together. Allow to heat through so that everything is warm.

IMG_2258

5. Serve sprinkled with some parmesan cheese and enjoy!

IMG_2260

Let me know if you give either recipe a try! Enjoy!!

2 thoughts on “On the Menu – New Favorites!

  1. Nicole says:

    Yum! We used to make a similar taco salad recipe and freeze it in individual containers to eat throughout the week. It was like having our own much more delicious AND healthy Lean Cuisines. They reheated really well, but I bet they’d be even better with a few minutes under the broiler to make the cheese bubbly!

    Like

Leave a Reply

