Zucchini Carrot Oatmeal Muffins

Another week, another muffin recipe! This one is a big-time winner! Oh man. It made a TON and its a good thing because the way Neely is chowing down on these, they may not last more than a few days!

IMG_5645

More and more, these little mini muffins are becoming a favorite item for me to have on hand for the kids. They are perfect to pack in school lunches and are an awesome option for snacks or meals. I love giving my kids food that they enjoy eating, that even feels like a treat, but that has fruits and veggies and healthy grains packed in. I try to be sure to tell them what is in there, too, hoping that maybe if I say there is zucchini in their muffins, they’d be less afraid of trying actual zucchini one day. Might be wishful thinking but who knows! I just don’t want to feel like I’m trying to deceive them or trick them into eating healthy – I want them to realize that eating healthy is delicious!

IMG_5632

IΒ kind ofΒ love that these don’t include bananas. I like bananas fine, and so do my kids, but its nice to have a muffin that doesn’t have a banana taste to it every once in a while! These aren’t totally clean, but they pack goodness (& veggies) into them and are sweet and delicious! I modified the original recipe (found here), and next time may continue to modify to try to get rid of some more of the sugar (I decreased the original amount already but I wonder if I could still do less!) So I will be coming back to this one to try some new things. All in all though, definitely a winner.

Zucchini Carrot Oatmeal Muffins

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3 large eggs + 1 large egg white
  • 1 cup unsweetened apple sauce
  • 1 cup grated zucchini
  • 1 cup grated carrot
  • 3/4 cup raisins*

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Mix dry ingredients in a large bowl and set aside. In a separate bowl, whisk eggs and apple sauce. Stir in grated zucchini and carrots. Add to dry ingredients and stir until combined. (If your batter seems dry, try adding a bit more applesauce)
  3. Fill muffin cups about 3/4 full and bake for 20 minutes until a toothpick comes out clean.

These were dense when they came out of the oven, so my toothpick kind of stuck inside and made me wonder if they were cooked all the way through – but they were perfect!!

*I would say the raisins are optional or replaceable – you could use something else like craisins or apple chunks, or even chocolate chips I suppose! But my kids love raisins so we used them. You could probably leave them out all together, too!

IMG_5648

“Please mommy, just one more?!” (she had already eaten 2, so I gave in and gave her just one more!)

 

2 thoughts on “Zucchini Carrot Oatmeal Muffins

Leave a Reply

